4.7.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Awesome day! No really! Awesome. What makes it awesome? God spoke to me and others. When God moves, it’s awesome.

We started with When I Think About The Lord. The first service rocked it but the second service, we had a lot of new folks at church that didn’t know where the regulars shout so it was kinda quiet while we sang. I’m gonna have to teach them, Lol. We’ve been singing this song for a while at church and I believe I’ll sing it to my grave.

After announcements, we went into Our GodI’m not sure about the house but the mix in the monitors were absolutely fascinating. Almost CD quality for me. Kaven, our guitarist did an awesome job after I gave him a very hard time on our Wednesday night practice. Our drummer on the other hand (Thomas) not so much, Lol. We all had a good laugh before second service about him losing timing and about messed up the whole song in first service. I told him I’m just glad he didn’t stop because me and the pianist (Heather) did stop to make sure he was able to control that train wreck. To his credit though, he hadn’t had a mess up that bad in quite a long time.

If you’re a guitarist, have you ever used two capos so you didn’t have to move the one? I like doing that because all I have to do is remove one and I’m ready for the next song. I did that on Our God because I capo on the fourth fret then the next song I capo the second fret and I just find it’s easier to drop one than move one.

We then went into King of Glory. I’m with Ted, one of our elders at church who believes we can play this song EVERY Sunday. That song is just a great song and our band pulls it off so good.

I shared Psalm 34:1-3. I shared a simple definition of what it means to bless the Lord. It simply means that we speak in favor of Him. We speak good of Him and tell Him and others about His goodness. We think a lot of times of blessings being just for us. Us getting things. Us receiving things. Us being spoken favor of. The psalmist tells us to bless the Lord.

10,000 Reasons speaks of this very thing. Check out this verse.

You’re rich in love, and You’re slow to anger
Your name is great, and Your heart is kind
For all Your goodness I will keep on singing
Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find

Excellent song by Matt Redman and quite honestly, I have a fresh spirit singing this song because I have a fresh idea of what it means to bless the Lord and His praise being on my lips at all times.

For me, it was an awesome Sunday!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

