4.14.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Today was a good day in many ways. One way it wasn’t was vocally for me. I think other worship leaders would understand when I say my vocals were lazy today. I just couldn’t hit certain notes and today was a bad day to pick to be lazy with the song choices I made. As my drummer, Thomas would say, all to keep me humble. Lol

We started off with Free To Run. We haven’t played this song in a very long time but we played it at Encounter Worship a few months ago and I thought we should do it again. It went over well but we had some confusion on arrangement but got it worked out before service. Because we have a lot of new folks at church, I’m not sure they knew how the “echo” went in the chorus. Thankfully we have BGVs to show em how its done.

After announcements, we played Here For You. I really enjoy this song however, I bombed the lyrics in the second service. Whoops. Everyone knew it too because I could see their faces like,”What the heck is he doing. That’s not how the song goes.” Jayce, our BGV was with me thought however I corrected myself in the song. I made a joke about it after the song to let everyone know I knew they knew. Just one of those times that you have to admit something can’t be hidden. We all had a good laugh. Ten years ago, I would have been seriously upset but now, grace is good and I’m all about some grace.

Holy Is The Lord went well and this time we did How Great Thou Art along with it. What can I say. It’s an oldie but a goodie. Both songs.

My lazy vocals didn’t want to get off the couch and definitely going into Amazing Grace I was concerned. No matter what I did, I couldn’t seem to light a fire under the tail so I’m sure I had some seriously bad notes in this song. But we made it and I’m still alive. I hope folks come back next Sunday. Lol

After the second service we had our first GraceLife University class. I’m pretty stoked about this. We had 30 folks in class and nine of them never considered church a part of their lives just six months ago. We’re all about doing some damage to the kingdom of hell and building God’s kingdom. Next week I get to teach Essentials 201. I’m more than stoked!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

