Is Sunday All There Is


Worship Beyond

Every Sunday, I think God does some awesome and tremendous things at our church. Not things you can visually or tangibly see but things that move our hearts closer to Him. After we meet, I go home and pray that God doesn’t quit moving in such ways. Today as I sit here typing this (which will be yesterday as you read this) I’m sitting on my front porch just finished reading another amazing account of someone’s journey on the Appalachian Trail. I look out in my neighborhood and watch the kids playing basketball at the neighbor’s house. I see squirrels frolicking in the trees. I hear birds singing their worship songs and I can’t help but see God moving in every aspect of life.

My thoughts wander to our gathering at GraceLife today and everyone that I get to worship with. I see their faces. I hear their laughter. I can see them worshiping God by serving one another and I can’t help but to smile because I am blessed in so many ways. Yet when Monday comes I wonder if my heart will continue on in worship or regret the work week by cursing another Monday morning and wishing my week away for another weekend.

In my mind I come to the conclusion and have for some time but need the subtle reminders that church on Sunday morning is simply an event that happens on my journey. It’s not the end of my journey. Sunday worship is not merely the end of my week but another step in my worship through the week, months, years and life. I don’t engage God only on Sunday because “that’s what Christians do.” I engage God every moment of my life with anticipation of getting to engage God on Sunday together with my spiritual family.

Church is not the be all end all of worship. Worship is an everyday aspect of my life. Church is the icing on the cake each week to engage God together corporately. Everyone gathering together to announce to God He’s everything and doing it together is a highlight.

Sure we have our small groups that meet each week. Sunday is a time where collectively all those who call themselves GraceLifers (insert your church here) enjoy the presence of God and the presence of each other but everyday is a day of worship and should be and I hope that the overflow of what was said, sung, or done on Sunday continues everyday for you and me and that we don’t chalk Sundays up as being the only day we commune with God.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

