Hiking Helps Me Disconnect


…and I really hate connecting back sometimes. I get out in the woods hiking for hours. I cut off my phone. Not just put it on silent but actually cut it off. When I return to my truck I turn it back on and I immediately am drawn back to my social networks to see what I missed. I hate this about myself. That’s exactly why I love getting away from it. I need the disconnection!

It’s funny that I actually feel dirtier checking my phone than when I’m in the woods. Why? Because Social Networking can feel fake. Not that I am fake. It can just feel fake. But the woods are natural. Nothing’s trying to impress you out there. Nothing’s trying to vie for your attention in the woods. Nothing’s is attempting to be what it’s not out there.

Everything you see and experience is what it is. You get what you get when you walk down the trail and see a flower slumping in the mid morning coolness. The trees give you all they have when their limbs are boasting full of leaves. The flies, nats, and mosquitoes give you their all and don’t care that they annoy you. The sun beats down on you heating you and the water replenishes your thirst. Everything you encounter in nature is being all it can be and nothing more, nothing less. They give you what they have the day they are having it. God’s creation in nature is truth.

Social Networking? Not so much. That’s why I feel dirty checking my phone after coming out of the woods. I feel I have just left the cleanliness of truth to a dirty facade. I need the disconnect in order to be refreshed. Drama, phoniness, arrogance, hatred, lies, and more that I find when I turn on my Social Networking is enough to drive me crazy sometimes.

Unfriend them you say. Quit following them you suggest. Here’s the problem. Social Networking is a habit for me. It’s a drug, a stimulant, and addiction and if you’re honest with yourself, it is for you too. We’re drawn to the inadequacies that Internet networking gives us. Like a moth to the flame that knows it hurts, we go back for more punishment because we can’t seem to be satisfied without it.

For me, disconnecting from it is the best I can do. So I grab a backpack and hit the woods. For me, it’s therapeutic and when I return, I return with hopes that I get to do it again soon.

“Keep close to Nature’s heart… and break clear away, once in awhile, and climb a mountain or spend a week in the woods. Wash your spirit clean.” – John Muir

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Hiking Helps Me Disconnect

Leave a Reply

