Being In Christ is Win/Win


Matthew 5:13-16 (NASB) “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt has become tasteless,how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled under foot by men. “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lamp-stand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.”

Let me put it this way

Matthew 5:13-16 (MSG) “You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.

This is where I’m at now in my journey with Christ. I’ve read this a thousand times yet now I’m seeing it differently. My focus has always been on being that light and a small amount of concentration on where the glory goes. It’s always kinda been a “Yeah, Yeah I get it… All for God.” But wait a minute.

Let your light shine < God gets glory (remember the grater than, less than symbol in math)

Everything I do pales in comparison to God’s glory. He will get His glory no matter if I shine bright or hide it under a bushel. He’ll get it through someone else who WILL shine their light. It’s more about His glory than it is me shining a light.

So this really impacted me when I realized I’m shining my light; the truth, the one that God gave me, the Christ from Heaven is being lifted up on a lamp-stand and if that’s not high enough, I walk to the highest point in the city and place that lamp-stand for all to see. And after all my doing, I get no credit, God does simply because of his goodness being revealed in my life.

My reward? Christ.

His reward? Glory.

It’s a win/win!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

