Relation Before Revelation


I have a friend named John. He’s a heck of a guy. He’s one of those folks that you consider a good guy and doesn’t do much wrong. He’ll give you the shirt off his back and be there for you if you called him at three in the morning. He likes to use an occasional curse word and he’s one for telling you how he feels with a slight consideration of your feelings.

I invited him to church the other day. I asked him if he was a man of faith and he said not anymore. He used to be Mormon but since he went into the Army, he has admitted to not having a faith at all. So again I asked him to come to church with me. He said he quit going to church because of all the hypocrisy. I told him that was a fair assessment of the church. I’ve heard that my whole life and I was sure my church was no different. Even I do things I probably shouldn’t’ be doing yet I tell others not to do them because God’s word says not to. However I invited him again. That’s when we were interrupted by his secretary.

John and I have had a relationship for over a year now and he’s one of my best friends. My world lights up when he walks in the room. I think to myself now theres a guy that understands me and if he doesn’t he listens. I don’t hold my faith from him although we both work in a state job, he’s ok with me speaking about what I do for and at my church. He has not once said he needs to have what I have. He has never wanted to know more about me, my faith, nor my church. He has never asked me to explain how I can believe in God. He has never once even started the conversation about God, faith, or church. He’s just not that interested anymore. Maybe one day he will.

As I was driving away from our conversation, I prayed to God that he would speak to John. God reminded me He has been; through me. Then God spoke something to me I don’t think I’ll ever forget.

Sometimes, there needs to be a relation before there can be a revelation. 

That hit me pretty hard. There had to be a relation between Peter and Jesus. There had to be a relation between Philip and the eunuch. There had to be a relation between Lazarus, Martha, Mary and Jesus. There had to be a relation between Samuel and God. Sometimes, there just has to be a relation before a revelation. Rick Warren is noted as saying that people don’t care how much you know till they know how much you care.

Sometimes, there needs to be a relation before there can be a revelation. 

Do you have friends that you’ve been talking to about God and it just seems that it’s taking forever for them to come around? Do you have people in your life that you’ve spoken to about your faith and they are just not getting any closer to giving their lives to Christ? Are there people that you’ve know their life would be so much better if they just accepted Christ and His way of living? Are their people in your life that you just have that feeling they will never know God, have faith in Him, or even utter His name from their lips and you’re so frustrated with them you just want to give up on them.

Sometimes, there needs to be a relation before there can be a revelation. 

 

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

