I Wrote A Corporate Worship Song


I’ve written a lot of songs in my life. I mean a lot. I recorded four CDs. I’ve played in numerous bands and on numerous projects and I must say the hardest thing I have ever tried to accomplish is writing a corporate worship song. What makes it difficult for me is…

  1. I have the inner fear of being compared with the top 20 CCLI we already do at church.
  2. I can’t write simple vocal harmonies.
  3. Most of my guitar work is too complicated. I find it very hard to simplify my music.
  4. Do people really want to sing my words or just listen to them? Can they connect?
  5. There’s so many good worship songs out there already. Why write a new one?
  6. I have a hard time putting into words what my church needs to say.
  7. It’s all been done. Thanks Chris Tomlin, Paul Baloche, Hillsong and Jesus Culture. I’m not in the mood to regurgitate your creative style.
  8. Is my theology correct? Is it deep enough yet simple enough to understand?
  9. Am I called to be a corporate worship song writer?
  10. Can I write in a musical genre the church will connect with?

I’m sure I can think of more but that may be my top ten reasons for being too scared to attempt the worship song category of writing. However, I have been praying for a few years now for God to give me worship songs. I finally wrote one I’m willing to share with you. I would love to hear your honest opinion. The quality is not that great but that’s not the point. The point is to write. So take a listen and feel free to give a brutally honest opinion.

 

You are eternal
There is no end to your name
You are Father and Son
And Spirit the same
You are Savior
We live for your fame
You are
You are righteous
Perfect in all ways
You are worthy
Worthy of all praise
You are goodness
Throughout all our days
You are
So we lift up our voice to sing
We open our hearts to what you bring
Nothing compares to who you are
You alone are God
You are better
Better than life
You sustain us
When day turns to night
You are with us
To stay by our side
You are
So we lift up our voice to sing
We open our hearts to what you bring
Nothing compares to who you are
You alone are God
About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

9 Responses to I Wrote A Corporate Worship Song

  1. pastorcarlo says:

    All its missing is double bass and drop-d tuning : )

  2. Anonymous says:

    Good song!

    Simple, catchy, good melodies. Lyrics are strong, too.

    My only tweak, might be to change the line “throughout all our days” to something like “in all of our days” – not sold on that as the perfect tweak, but the word throughout is kind of a harsh word to throw in as a “pick up” note. I think it’s the TH and R consonant sounds together that make it awkward. My speech pathologist wife could probably break it down better.

    Anyways, you’re squeezing in a “thick” word in a tiny space there. Earlier, you used “we live for your fame” – that’s parallel to this line in the verse structure. But we is a whole lot smoother in that same tiny space.

    Keep it up!

  3. Russ Hutto says:

    Good song!

    Simple, catchy, good melodies. Lyrics are strong, too.

    My only tweak, might be to change the line “throughout all our days” to something like “in all of our days” – not sold on that as the perfect tweak, but the word throughout is kind of a harsh word to throw in as a “pick up” note. I think it’s the TH and R consonant sounds together that make it awkward. My speech pathologist wife could probably break it down better.

    Anyways, you’re squeezing in a “thick” word in a tiny space there. Earlier, you used “we live for your fame” – that’s parallel to this line in the verse structure. But we is a whole lot smoother in that same tiny space.

    Keep it up!

  4. Russ Hutto says:

    Sorry for the double post. My browser kind of hiccuped on me and I wanted to make sure my comment went through!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Nice

  6. Pingback: Weekend Links | Worship Links

Leave a Reply

