Relying On The Past


Recently I read an article in the Clarksville Family Magazine from a local Pastor, Chris Edmonds. He was talking about his blackberry vines and he found spiritual significance in how he treats his blackberries and how we should live our life. Something he said caught my attention because it’s something I deal with as well having preached about it before. Let me share.

A blackberry vine only produces blackberries for one year. After that year, that vine will never produce another blackberry. Isn’t that interesting? There’s no ‘coasting’ when you’re a blackberry. You’ve got one shot to produce, and after that, your kindling. The same is true with our spiritual life. We must continually be growing, not relying on past growth or past intimacy with God to carry us through our present…

unclerico

I have spent a good portion of my Christian life living in that moment of when I felt closer to God. Sometimes when I feel like my relationship with God is stagnant, I think about when everyday used to seem like a fresh dose of Godly goodness all over me and I start wishing I had that again. I tend to live in the past. I tend to bask in my “glory” days just like Uncle Rico on Napoleon Dynamite. If I could just go back, I’d take State.

You know the feeling. You can’t live in the now if your too consumed with living in the past. Look what I accomplished then. Look at my prayer life then. Look at who all I ministered to then. Look who all came to Christ through me then. All these then moments create a useless now. We’re no good now because we still live in then.

We can’t rely on past success because in the now, the past are like dried up raisins. We need to be fruitful and create juicy grapes. It may feel like your relationship with God is not as close as it used to be and that’s ok. God is doing something now. You and I? We need to live in the now so in the future if we happen to look back on the past we can see where we’ve come and continue forward building on what God has done creating an extraordinary life worthy of the gospel (Philippians 1:27).

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

