Financial Aid and God’s Wisdom


fafsa

Yesterday was my first day in college. Yes, I went back to school. Like I blogged yesterday, it’s pretty scary yet exciting all at the same time. My daily schedule just went from having a few hours a day to chill to having mere minutes. But there was a moment that I didn’t think I was going to get to do this.

When I signed up for my FAFSA in the Spring, I did it wrong. In actuality, I’m not even sure what I was doing. Then when I decided to take it seriously, I did it again a few months ago. I then pushed my college to help me because I had absolutely no clue what I was doing. Each time I would call, I would get a little more help but still unsure if I was doing everything correct or if I was going to get financial aid. As the days wore down, I was literally two days from starting class and still not knowing if I was getting financial aid.

My pastor tried to encourage me and keep me in a positive attitude (He’s studying for his PhD. He knows a thing or two about college and financial aid.). Last week, I attended a leadership gathering that met where the college is and I was able to talk one on one with the finance department. In an unscheduled meeting (I found help in the coffee shop with someone in the finance department getting coffee) I was made aware that I wouldn’t be getting full aid. There were other questions that didn’t have answers and some details didn’t make sense leaving us all wondering what was going on. By this time, I’m just wringing my hands hoping God would take care of it. At the least, I would have to drop two courses and only take one that aid would cover then hope I could pick back up in the Spring semester.

At the end of the leadership conference, I made my way back to the finance department to talk again and work out the details. The whole time I’m hoping God will do something yet feeling that the reality was I was only going to be able to take one class. In the end, I learned I would be getting just enough aid to cover my classes. SCORE!

Here’s the thing. I was led by some to think it might be possible to get paid to go to college because some folks they knew got more money than they needed to attend classes. I hoped for that too. It would have helped out. At first I learned I was only going to get enough to attend one class then finally learned financial aid would cover all of my classes.

Some folks get more than they need in life. Some folks get just what they need in life and even still, some folks don’t get what they think they need when in actuality it’s exactly what they need. Let me translate. Some of my friends have gotten more than they need to attend classes at a college. That’s fine. I didn’t get that. I ended up getting just what I needed to attend my classes and no more. However, I thought I was going to get what I needed for one class and had I gotten that, I would in reality have gotten what God felt I needed and I would have had to adjust to God’s wisdom.

Moral of the Story

Seek first God’s kingdom and he will give you what you need. Even when you feel you needed more you may have needed to cut back. God’s knows best and he delivers!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Financial Aid and God’s Wisdom

  1. I’m glad to hear it worked out.

Leave a Reply

