9.22.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Why does Sunday have to be so much fun. I get to spend Sunday’s with some of the best folks in Clarksville.

We started off with a medley I put together sitting around thinking one day. These two songs, Revolutionary Love and My Redeemer Lives, came into my head and I thought how fun it would be to combine them. Although they don’t have the same message, they have a similar message. God loves us with a revolutionary love and He redeems us because He loves us that much. So we chopped the songs up and built a whole different song with it. I really enjoyed it and loved the creative process. I told the band at rehearsal that it may not work but at least we can’t be faulted for not trying something different.

Open Up Our Eyes  was a song we brought in a few weeks ago. I enjoyed playing this song. Today, the “clean” guitar was down in my monitors so I struggled with keeping up. Thankfully, Heather (keyboards) was loud enough I just sang to her instrument. When the distortion kicked it, it KICKED IN!

As stated before and I’ll state it again, I’m not a big fan of God Of This City. I’m willing to say the only reason I felt we needed to do this song today was because I worked with supporting the message. I like to use songs that support the message even if I don’t like them. I have a theory about using songs I don’t like. I’ve blogged about it before. Bottom line is even though I may not like songs, I can use them to worship to. This is one of them. But that’s argument for the worship circles.

Lastly, we do our own version of the hymn Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus. Again, it was one of those times today where I just wanted to sit on that song for a while. In my private worship, I can sit on a song for a little bit longer than normal but I don’t like to put folks through that on Sunday mornings.

We had a full house today in worship thanks to two different families having birthday parties that brought folks from out-of-town. I loved seeing everybody. I too had some visitors. The two cookie salesmen that made a deal with me fulfilled their part of the contract and showed up. They loved it and after church I met their mom and they bragged to her about how awesome our church is. Maybe the saying is true; “Win the kids and you win the family.”

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

