Be a V.I.P.


Yesterday, I spoke of V.I.P.s in my life. The ones I mentioned are either spending time personally with Jesus or they are far removed from my life in the manner of speaking I don’t know where they are at now. I miss them yet they still make a difference in my life. They make me smile when I remember them. They encourage me by the words they spoke years ago that still ring in my ears. They made an impact that is everlasting and nothing can take that away.

To spring-board off of what I wrote yesterday, I want to encourage you to be a V.I.P. in someone’s life. What does that mean? It means being selfless and serving others creating disciples and loving others to the point that their life is just as important as your own. It’s not easy sometimes. It takes an invested interest in another person and getting to know them on a level deeper than an acquaintance.

I believe we all know that the same people won’t be around us our whole life and those who impact us won’t be around forever and those we are impacting will come and go. It’s a never-ending revolving door of loving others to the point of making a difference in their life. This is not an easy road because it means getting dirty with another person. It means getting in the gutter of life with them and seeing the ugly side of life and walking through it with them. It means speaking words of wisdom and having a heart that breaks when their’s breaks and celebrates when they celebrate.

Jealousy can not be part of this relationship. Covetousness has no part. Wanting to be them is not a reason to be with them. We can not want to live their lives as a reason to befriend someone and attempt to escape our own. We must embellish a heart of service and experience a depth of relationship that goes beyond the surface. Being a V.I.P. in someones life means not being in a disposable relationship and running away when it gets crazy. It means life is met with a hearty appetite of friendship and love.

What am I trying to say?

Love others to the point of wanting to see them succeed in eternal matters as well as the physical. Share the word together. Build one another up. Encourage one another. Let no word escape from your mouth that will tear down. That’s counterintuitive. Have no expectations other than to expect no expectations. Excel in grace and mercy and forgive always.

Then someday, when they don’t know where you snuck off to in life, they’ll remember what you did for them, said to them or how you were there for them and smile and say that was a Very Important Person in my life and even though they are gone they are still a Very Important Person.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to Be a V.I.P.

  1. You always have a way of making thing seem so difficult yet so simple.

Leave a Reply

