Reprieve for Rebecca Black


It’s been two years now and Rebecca Black has received some of the harshest criticism for her song Friday. I was having a conversation with my wife this morning after watching yet another silly viral video and asked her can we now forgive Rebecca and give her a little credit for stepping out and doing something that at first caused a lot of stir but now has garnered her maybe the Godmother of viral music videos?

I’m not trying to get all Kanye and say, “Yo, Ylvis, I’m really happy for you, and I’m gonna let you finish, but Rebecca had one of the best videos of all time.” Nor am I gonna get all Chris Crocker and say, “Leave Rebecca alone!”

But…

I think after the likes of Psy with “Gangam Style” and Ylvis with “The Fox” we can safely say that Rebecca Black is in good company and could use some reprieve after her hit smash “Friday” started it all. Or am I just kidding myself?

And for the record… THIS IS WHAT THE FOX SAYS!

For all you inner Kanye fans, who had the best viral song of all time?

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Reprieve for Rebecca Black

  1. Tamara says:

    Gotta admit. .. never heard of Miss Black nor her video. I also have to be honest and say I couldn’t watch the whole thing because well it was silly to my adult self but to my young self who lived in fear it was cool that this unpolished young girl stepped out so for that I say kudos Miss Rebecca Black- I am not sure she is a music artist but I do know she is living fearless and that will take her to lots of cool places on her journey

Leave a Reply

