10.20.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

What an amazing time we had at GraceLife today. Worship was good. Pastor Carlo’s message was good. Communion was good. Wow.

Today on the instruments were just me and Tony. He normally plays bass but because he has been leading worship for our youth and I’ve been discipling him in worship leading, he played guitar today and led worship with me. He did an outstanding job leading a song, singing backup, and playing some cool licks in other spots. I’m blessed to have this guy on our team.

We started off with Hanging By A Moment for no other reason than it’s a cool song, it’s something different and it was a good lead in to what we were going to be singing next. We played it in Drop D. It’s always interesting to do something out of the norm because the church doesn’t know how to react. Should I stand? Should I sit? Do I sing? Do I listen? What do I do? My answer is “YES”. Do what God leads you to do. Sing and worship or sit and listen and jam out. Whatever works for you.

With no transition, we went straight into Jesus Loves Me. I could really tell when everyone started singing. I didn’t use in ears today so I listened to the house and I could hear everyone singing and man, it was amazing. I love that sound. I think that’s one of the reasons why I pursued leading worship.

After what is normally the first congregational song, we have video announcements. I took this time to tune back to E440. However, in the first service, I forgot and afterwards I had to apologize to Tony for destroying his song. He led us in Beautiful King and he did great. Me? Not so much. Because I forgot to tune back up, I made quite a few blunders, and even had to quit singing back up in order to focus on the right chords I was supposed to be playing. I made sure in the second service to tune up and even had Tony remind me.

After Beautiful King, we took communion. I was stoked. This was the third time I’ve ever led communion and really had a blast. Our Systems Director told me afterwards everything was fine except one analogy I gave didn’t go over too well because I didn’t explain it very well. So I made some adjustments for second service. Sometimes, everything is going so fast, it’s hard to slow down and do communion. I made sure today that I slowed things down so we could focus. After first service, I made a comment to our Systems Director that the crackers were too big and while eating in the first service, I took a long time trying to chew it up. I never looked up but others saw my feeble attempt and were laughing at me, so I was told. They also took a while chewing so we made sure the second serve the crackers were broken up a little more. I made sure my cracker was seriously broken up almost to the size of a crumb. Lesson learned. Lol

The last song, New Doxology, was amazing in second service. It was one of those moments where I just knew the Spirit was moving. Everyone was singing and it was just a powerful moment. I almost began to cry with emotion. Just wow!

After the second service, a lot of us went over to the new space we’ll be meeting at beginning Nov. 10th and prayed over the place. Wow! I can’t wait to see what God is going to do with GraceLife.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

