I Dream of Drumming


I can remember the first time I saw them. I was six years old. I was in a gym in little ole Petersburg, Tennessee. They were beautiful, at least to a six year old. I remember being mesmerized just sitting there watching them as they were played. I wanted to be that guy. I wanted to be hitting the skins. I wanted to be the guy with a button up shirt, boots and a mullet playing some random song by Alabama.

Since then, I always wanted to be a drummer. But you say I’m a guitar player. Yeah, I know. But that’s only because Daddy bought me a guitar rather than the drums I wanted for Christmas. I really do dream of drumming. I go into church and I’ll practice longer on drums than I do on guitar. I play the dash of my truck more than air guitar. I think and listen to drum patterns more than picking patterns.

I got my first guitar when I was thirteen but my first set of drums came when I tied some rolled fence wire to two trees for my high hat, turn a couple of bucket seats over and strapped two buckets to the seats for toms and hung a couple of tin garbage can tops between two trees for my cymbals and used some sticks I got handed from a concert I went to. I was a drummer in my heart.

Just yesterday, I made a comment to my pastor who is freakin amazing on drums that he plays air drums better than some play a real drum set. It’s so unbelievable how good that guy is and I’m lucky enough he doesn’t charge me to listen to him practice. I know when I enter heaven and God shows me to my mansion, in the foyer will sit a nice gold inlayed set of drums with the nicest zildjian cymbals (I like zildjian). When I sit down on that throne and grab them sticks and lay down the sickest beat you’ve ever heard (because we ARE in Heaven, I can play no wrong) I will weep with joy that I have truly entered in!

There’s something about this video that just sits me down and catches my attention. It’s solid. It’s simple and it makes me wished I was playing those drums.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

