Staying Motivated


I think we all deal sometimes with the issues of staying motivated. We can find something that we’ve become crazy, head-over-heals about and pursue it till almost burnout then there are those times when that exciting thing takes longer than you thought it would or maybe you knew it would take that long but you never intended for yourself to lose interest in the journey.

A couple of years ago I read a great book by Jon Acuff called Quitter. The little I did retained from his book has been a motivating source for me when times seem like I’m dragging. I began college and sometimes the day of study feels like its been a week and I still have eight more weeks of this till a term break, then I have eight more weeks of this till a semester break, then I have two more years of this till a A. Div, then I have two more years of this till a B. Div. and so on.

Maybe in your case, you got started on a project you thought would win you credibility or at least some kind of acceptance. Maybe you began losing weight because you really felt it was time to quit being fat. Maybe you’re trying to save money for an amazing trip with your spouse or friend but the saved money keeps burning a hole in your pocket. Maybe you decided it was time to learn how to play a musical instrument, launch a business, climb Mt. Everest, or hike the Appalachian Trail. Whatever the case, you need motivation to keep you interested and sustained in your journey.

So how do we stay motivated when that happens?

What I learned from Jon Acuff was a simple equation. It seems quite elementary but the truth is sometimes we need the simple to profound the wise so here it is.

When preparation meets opportunity, success happens.

In other words, if you want to be successful, you must be prepared to handle the situation when the opportunity arises. How does that equate to staying motivated? Simple. You must stay motivated to be prepared.

If I wasn’t prepared when it came to playing guitar, when I stood before a crowd and it was my turn to solo, I would fall flat on my face. That means, as a guitarist, I must have a bucket of guitar licks that I have prepared in advance and practice so when the opportune time arose, I was able to play and be successful.

Motivation is key to success through preparedness. 

Do you want to be successful? Sure you do. Then we must stay motivated to being prepared. Being prepared is the motivation to being successful in an opportunity. What do you need to prepare for today? Get motivated for success.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Staying Motivated

  1. Malerie says:

    I feel safsitied after reading that one.

Leave a Reply

