Apologizing To God For Being You


I don’t know about you but I find myself apologizing to God for being who I am. Do you find yourself doing that too? Do you find yourself after eating too much raw cookie dough apologizing to God for being a glutton or maybe you apologize to God after watching too much Dr. Who when you find yourself coveting that a sweet TARDIS? Either case I know I’ve found myself telling God I was sorry for who I am.

  • I’m sorry for bursting in anger towards things I can’t control
  • I’m sorry for my laziness and passing it off as a joke on Facebook claiming that my get up and go has gotten up and went
  • I’m sorry for putting my marriage in cruise control
  • I’m sorry for treating my child like anything but a God-given gift
  • I’m sorry for allowing myself to get fat (cause I’m sorry I married an amazing wife who cooks awesome dinners and knows how to make a serious Sweet Tea)
  • I’m sorry I’m a sinner!

God doesn’t need our apologies. He handled that kinda stuff when we gave our life too him. He handled our sin past and present when he sent his son to the cross. He’s not surprised that we act according to our molecular makeup-dirt (Psalm 103:14)!

Of course I’m not trying to say stop confessing your sins to God because there is healing in confession. All I’m trying to do is convince myself (and you) that God said, “Apology accepted” at Calvary because living in our apologies creates a life of victimization. We start blaming our situations, our experiences, or even ourselves for who we are rather than “taking the bull by the horns” and stamping out things that hold us back.

Start living in the promise that God gave us when he said in his word that he sets our feet on solid ground (Psalm 40:2) and let us not forget the mercy (Lam. 3:22-23) that benefits us each morning we wake from slumber and tread through the day attempting to live as Jesus yet failing miserably because we are still trying to figure out this holy life God has called us to.

So stop apologizing and start living. Stop accusing and start celebrating. Stop pointing the finger and start applauding.

This means that anyone
who belongs to Christ has
become a new person.
The old life is gone; a new life has begun!
2 Corinthians 5:17 NIV
About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

6 Responses to Apologizing To God For Being You

  1. pastorcarlo says:

    Freaking. Brilliant. You really should think about writing books.

  2. Sarah Fulton says:

    So good. Really.
    Confession needs to happen from our side, but from God’s side it’s “already taken care of. Not an issue.”
    It’s really hard to remember that. Too easy to see God as angry and disappointed.
    God is in a good mood! That isn’t changed when we are human.

  3. Tamara says:

    Thank you for this one.. good stuff

Leave a Reply

