11.17.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Today was different. This past week I injured my foot and needed to stay off of it as much as I could. I would like to blame my injury on some awesome misstep I may have taken on a hiking trip but that was not the case. I went to the doctor on Saturday and learned I would need to be careful for a week or so, so I immediately called our resident youth worship leader and asked him to step up and lead worship on such a last minute. He’s amazing. With no hesitation he said he would.

I can’t believe I get to watch this kid grow up in the talents he has and today was no exception. He knocked it out of the park and I heard folks encouraging him. After his practice before service, I gave him some encouraging words and prayed for him and the church and I can’t explain how cool it was for me to pass the baton for a service and pray over him.

I also asked the band not to play since it was such a last minute decision so he played the acoustic. It worked out so good that there was less to tear down so some who would have helped in tear down got to serve helping the F.U.E.L. ministry prepare the next two weeks of food.

Sometimes you wonder if the decisions you make are the right decisions and today I can see that they were. Having a bum foot allowed others to serve in areas that would have lacked in help and everything worked and run smoothly.

I also got to sit in the seats and worship and it was nice and refreshing to sit out and enjoy the worship time without any worries or concerns about things working out right or misplayed notes or anything. Don’t get me wrong. My choice would be to be leading worship with a healthy foot, but since the break came, I’ll accept it. I believe all things work together for good. In other words, God takes what should have been a screw up and makes it beautiful!

I love my church!!!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

