11.24.13 Worship Rewind


 

Worship Rewind 2013

Another great Sunday.

We started off with Not To Us. We’ve been doing this song a while. Great song to get started on.

You Are is a song I wrote and we’ve been doing it for a few weeks now. I’ve had a few occasional conversations as of lately with some folks who attend GraceLife and they have told me how much they love this song. Blows me away. I’m glad I could write a song that people can connect with.

Overcome is one of my favorite songs of all time. I really love it. I was going to attempt to loop the intro guitar riff on my Boss Looping Station but when I started to work on it, the band joined in playing the backup and I thought it sounded so raw and fresh, I decided to not loop the intro guitar riff and actually play it along with the band. Gave it a very unproduced sound. I dig that kinda thing.

We haven’t played 10,000 Reasons in a while and the band done a very good job on it today. Since we went mobile with our church, we have done away with Wednesday night rehearsals and we just have one on Sunday morning before church. In some ways it freaks me out because we basically have to nail it then and there or brace ourselves for a shaky worship experience (according to our view of what it needs to sound like, not God’s).  So far it’s been great and sure we’ll mess up occasionally but since I’ve been leading worship at GraceLife, I have learned to lean not so much on perfection as I have intention on worship from the heart. So we can make a blunder and there’s a boatload of grace.

I have to give a shout-out to our new sound tech, Michael. He did an amazing job today playing with the soundboard getting the best out of it he can in a gym. He made some modulations and I could tell and made sure that he knew I was grateful for him. He also did some speaker placements that I think helped in the grand scheme. I’m stoked to have a guy like that on our team. Making an effort knowing it makes a difference even if it is a minor difference.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

