The Prosperity Gospel, John Piper and Me


I fell in love with how John Piper presented the gospel almost ten years ago. I love that he puts it straight and he doesn’t water down or sugar coat the gospel. Sometimes the way he says it is gut wrenching and heart crushing yet I have a hard time biblically showing him wrong.

Since I am in college studying theology, world views, philosophy and more, I am beginning to learn his doctrine of thought. Yes, I believe he is at the least a five point Calvinist. However that’s not really my point with this post. I like how he puts things, the strength, the boldness, the courage to stand before millions and speak Jesus in a way that far too many preachers are afraid these days to speak.

Which leads me to this video. This is some hard stuff to accept… But it’s truth! I believe. Piper doesn’t point out one certain preacher yet we could all name one that preaches the prosperity gospel. He points out the curse behind false gospel of self riches. This video should make you stop and reflect if only for a minute where you stand with Jesus and money, wants and needs, riches and poverty. But like I said…

This is some hard gut wrenching stuff to take in.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

