12.22.13 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Today was a great day at church. As you can tell, we played Chris Tomlin’s versions of Christmas songs. I find that he has the best versions that are singable and congregation friendly as well.

We started with Joy To The World. I threw a kink in the chain when right before starting I told the band I was gonna sing the chorus first alone and then Thomas would click us all in. I also dropped the key from D to A because the chorus is insanely high for even my tenor voice to sing.

We kept the tempo going with a four-on-the-floor and I welcomed everyone and went straight into Angels We Have Heard On High. We had the kids in service with us today and it was so much fun to watch them dance and sing and pretend they were playing instruments. I especially enjoyed my son calling out “Dad” between songs (as a dad would, not as a worship leader would).

After we played O Come All Ye Faithful, the kids got up and sang Silent Night, Jingle Bells, and We Wish You A Merry Christmas. Again, I thoroughly enjoyed watching the kids get involved and my son wouldn’t stop singing Jingle Bells. Awesome!

At the end of the message, as I was playing guitar and Pastor Carlo was wrapping up, I hit a seriously sour note on guitar. I normally don’t cringe when I do that and I teach our team that when they mess up, not to let their face show it. I hit that sour note but couldn’t help it. It was so bad I made a face and immediately looked out to see if anyone noticed and nothing. Nobody was looking at me or even noticed that I hit such a sour note. I laughed!

When Pastor finished, we hung out eating Christmas cookies, drinking cocoa and passing out Christmas cards.

Great. Day!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

