Sin is a Killer


“The wages of sin is death.” That’s the message that Paul gives us in Romans 6:23. In a broad sense, sin is killing us each day because it convinces us that’s God’s way is not the best way. Sin attempts to teach us the opposite of John 15:5. Sin tells us that the life-giving, life-sustaining vine that God tells us to branch into does not give what it says it gives. As a matter of fact, sin encourages us that the fruit we bear as we are connected to the vine is actually not beneficial. What sin does not inform us is that if we disconnect from tis vine, then we die because we are now trusting in ourselves to offer the life-giving necessities to live longer.

Jesus teaches us to love God with all our heart, soul, mind and strength. But if we allow sin to reign in our mortal body, it just doesn’t kill us and remove us from the presence of God eternally. Poetically, death comes not just in our bodies but in our hearts and mind and strength.

When we sin, from my experience, death strangles my hopes and my desires to be righteous. When I have a day that I realize I have totally screwed up, it ruins my attempt at a “good” day. We all have those days where we wake up and say, “No sinning today. It’s gonna be a good righteous day.” Then BAM! Day ruined. It crushes my heart.

In times when I sin, it ruins my mind. I can’t think for the rest of the day because I’m too concerned with how I messed up and even though I ask for forgiveness and apologize to God for screwing up, I still can’t bear the day because I know it has ruined my relationship with God. I have grieved Him. It kills my mind.

It also brings death to my strength because when I sin, I don’t want to try anymore. I feel satan’s conviction on me telling me I can’t do it so why try. So I give in and give up. I don’t even try to be strong. I begin to listen to his lies that I am a hopeless case. It kills my strength.

Thankfully, we don’t rely on our strength, mind, hearts, or body to be righteous. We are righteous though Jesus and that is where we find our heart, mind, and strength as we renew ourselves daily in Him.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

