Piper Devotion 6


Today’s journal entry on John Piper’s devotional book Seeing and Savoring Jesus Christ.

John 21:17 – Lord You know everything.

It’s truth that God is omniscient. In other words he knows everything. In today’s devotion, John Piper states, “One reason to admire and trust Jesus above all other persons is that his knowledge and wisdom are unsurpassed.” I’m convinced today that there would be folks who would attempt to debate him and they would see that his knowledge far outweighs theirs. Oh to have seen the Pharisee’s faces when they became baffled at His knowledge. Even Solomon’s knowledge pales in comparison to Jesus’ (Matthew 12:42).

One thing that I cannot wrap my head around is that Jesus (God) knows everything. How much does God know? Does He know I will have potatoes for supper tonight? Does He know that I have a choice but because I like potatoes I will choose those. Scripture tells us in Matthew knew the thoughts of the scribes and asked why their was evil in their hears (9:4). The early church confession was that the Lord knew the hearts of all (Acts. 1:24). Still, I wonder if God knows EVERYTHING. I’m not wondering can He know but what He knows. Of course free will plays in to this equation. So does God know the choices I will make? For me, this still baffles me of his complete knowledge of all things including choices made but humanity.

Of course Jesus knew things we don’t simply because of his divine nature and revelation from God the Father. Piper says the reason for revealing such knowledge was so that we would know that “He is.” This he spoke in John 8:58, “…before Abraham was, I am.” Thus why his disciples said, “Now we know that You know all things, and have no need for anyone to question You; by this we believe that You came from God” (John 16:30). Though one possible contradiction that could be found would be in Matthew 24:36 is where Jesus says no one knows the day or hour when that Day will be. This is another example of Jesus showing his humanity because God the Father had not revealed to Jesus.  So Jesus doesn’t know all things simply because of his human nature. The Father reveals only what is needed. I’m convinced to believe that God the Father knows everything simply because I have no concrete evidence that He doesn’t but I’m not 100% there yet.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

