3.16.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Not To Us – Chris Tomlin
  • Open Up Our Eyes – Elevation Worship
  • Lead Me To The Cross – Hillsong
  • I Exalt Thee – Peter Sanchez

This week, we mixed the band up. Tony played guitar and led worship, Pastor Carlo played drums, I played bass, and Thomas (our drummer and Youth Leader) brought the message on grief.

We opened up with Not To Us. Tony likes to play it a little faster than I like. I mentioned this morning that it seemed a little fast but he said he liked it better that way. I gave in. He was the worship leader for the day so it was his call. I enjoyed playing some cool bass runs on this song.

After the welcome, we went into Open Up Our Eyes. This song sounded great. I thought Tony did a great job on this song.

Lead Me To The Cross was not so great on my part. We had initially made plans to play this song in Bm. However, this morning, Tony changed his mind and wanted to play it in Dm. I was ok with this but didn’t have the chord charts so I had to transpose in my head as I went. I’m not sure why I didn’t just take my chord charts and transpose them in Transpor.com since I was using my iPad. It never crossed my mind. I got lost at one point and couldn’t get back on track. So I fumbled the ball on this one. I finally was able to pick back up and finish the song but I didn’t lead to this song being awesome.

I Exalt Thee, I thought sounded really good. I loved the drum rudiment that Pastor Carlo was playing on this song. It gave it a very new sound to and older song.

Over all, this morning went really well. I think Tony could work a little more on transitioning between songs and we’ve been discussing this. He agrees. I really enjoyed being able to hang back and just play for once and not have to lead. Definitely gonna have to try this more often.

Lastly, Thomas brought us a word on grief. He told a very emotional story about grief in his own life. Had me at tears. He wrapped it up by telling us that God understands the grief we experience because of the grief he experienced when he gave his son to redeem us back into his kingdom.

Great day at GraceLife except for the cold and rain!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

