3.30.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Everlasting God – Lincoln Brewster
  • How Great Is Our God – Chris Tomlin
  • I Stand Amazed – Hymn
  • 10,000 Reasons – Matt Redman

It was great to back at church today with my GraceLife church family. I was out last week visiting a friend but I didn’t get to take off leading worship. I still played guitar last week for my friend at his church. But it was good to be back worship with GraceLife. I feel like the Spirit was really moving today and saw people lost in worship like never before. I watched people connecting and crying whether tears of joy or sorrow, decisions being made for Christ today and no one can take credit for it but God. He moved and it was awesome to see it happening.

We cranked up Everlasting God and it was sounding cool till I came in. I hit the wrong first note but quickly got on track playing the right riff. Whoops.

After announcements, We went straight into How Great Is Our God. I may have sung the chorus a few times too many but… I felt like we needed to. I felt like people were connecting and although some have an issue being too repetitious in worship as if worship leaders are trying to conjure up some type of emotional response, that’s not my intent. If the church is worship and connecting with God, then sometimes a chorus needs to be repeated.

I Stand Amazed is another example. I repeated the first verse because I’m not a worship jukebox. I pastor with worship music so we sang the first verse then I made mention of the power God has to remove our sins and cast them as far as east to west and we sang the first verse again to set in our hearts the truth of the first verse.

I then read from Psalm 23 making mention of all the things God does for us; leads, guides, protects, makes us rest, comforts, prepares a table in the presence of our enemies, and anoints our head. All David mentions that he does is dwells in the house of the Lord. When we stay in the presence of God, He takes care of us in so many ways. It truly is more of a relationship than a religion.

10,000 Reason was so good and when Pastor Carlo came up, we sang verse 2 again. It was a great time spent with God leading us in worship and speaking truth and grace over us.

We did have some issues with the sound system. The monitors were jacked up a little but we finally got them worked out. The overall sound had a chorus effect to them and although nothing had been changed, many of the main levels had to be brought down considerably. Pastors mic was cranked so loud in the monitors, we all heard the sound drop when he turned it on. It was picking up the room sound that it sounded like we were in a valley with a lot of reverb. Hopefully, we can’t get these bugs worked out before next Sunday.

I’m not gonna sit here and complain about the sound when God done so much work in people’s lives today. It was so amazing and never gets old to watch God do His thing, whether it’s my life or others. I love it when God does God things!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

