4.13.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Let God Arise – Chris Tomlin
  • Beautiful King – Jonathan Lee
  • Healer – Hillsong
  • Jesus Be The Center – Israel Houghton

It’s a blessing to have someone in your own church family to fill in leading worship. I have the honor of having a young man to disciple and allow occasionally to fill in if I’m going to be gone or if I’m preaching. This Sunday, I had the privilege to bring the word and Tony did a great job leading worship so I asked him to write the Worship Rewind. Here is musical worship from his perspective.

The worship team was on fire today! There were a few hiccups, but overall I am pleased.

Let God Arise- This song is a favorite of mine to play whenever I am leading worship. Kevin played the intro riff on the bass with me and it really beefed the song up.

Beautiful King- Normally I play this song on a clean channel and I play the chords during the intro, but today I kicked on some distortion and played the riff that was written for the original version of the song.

Healer- I felt that this song wasn’t played as well as it could have been played but it didn’t bomb which is always a good thing, especially if you’re leading. Our pianist, Heather, played this cool melody on the pads and it sounded great.

Jesus At the Center- Today was the first time I played this song with the full band, so I got to try some new things. There are definitely things that we’ll change the next time around.

It’s always a privilege to lead with the whole band, which is something I don’t get to do often. I appreciate Kevin for giving me the opportunity to lead worship.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

