4.20.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • God’s Not Dead – Newsboys
  • Our God – Chris Tomlin
  • That’s Why We Praise Him – Tommy Walker
  • Glorious Day – Michael Bleecker

I don’t have to say how amazing today is. Considering it’s Easter Sunday, I can imagine every church across this nation was busting at the seams with guests and energy in celebration of our risen savior. No doubt GraceLife proved the place to be. I loved getting see everyone and celebrate and worship with them in the hope that we have in Christ.

We started with God’s Not Dead. The big deal about this song today was during the bridge, all the kids of the church came up front and prepared to sing the chorus so when we got to the chorus, the band dropped out and the kids led us singing the chorus. The band came back in and finished the song.

After the welcome, we went into Our God. I love this song and very much enjoy singing it.

Coming out of Our God, Thomas kicked off That’s Why We Praise Him. I got a little funky on this song and played some cool licks. I started off with a jam lick then began the original intro guitar lick. A measure after that, the bass came in. This song went very well today. I think it also speaks to the moment. This song does a great job teaching why we praise God.

Lastly, one of may favorites that we do each Easter is Glorious Day. I think Michael Bleecker’s version (the actual guy who revamped the hymn) does a much better version that Casting Crowns. I could tell that the songs were speaking to people today. I love it when God is moving and we haven’t even gotten to the sermon yet.

I thought Pastor Carlo knocked it out of the park today. He got real with folks and probably stepped on some toes. What’s church unless you walk out with a few bruised egos, eh?

In the video below, my wife recorded God’s Not Dead. At 0:50, you’ll see my son climb up on the bench. At 1:15 you’ll see me lift my hands and immediately after my son raises his. I love it!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

