4.27.14 Worship Rewind


This Worship Rewind will be an odd Rewind because I’m combining two service into one.

Thursday, we got word that Carrie’s (my wife) granddad passed away. I immediately contacted Tony, our bass player, to ask him to fill in for me leading worship on Sunday. The funeral service was held on Sunday and surprising enough, it was one of the best funerals I have attended. The preacher, Larry Hastings, made it aware to most that it would be short and sweet because no one wants to sit in a funeral all day. The scripture he used was right on par, even better than some I had been to where the scripture they used were not very comforting.

A good friend of mine and pastor of First Baptist in Cornersville, Arthur Payne, spoke a moment and sang Go Rest High On That Mountain. This has to be one of the best songs EVER written and Arthur did an amazing job with his angelic voice. I always knew that man could sing and once again, he proved it by serving our family with an amazing presentation.

Carrie and I had some friends of ours show up to pay their respects. Although it was a funeral, it was a moment that I connected with God and was strengthened in my faith that one day we shall see Him as He is and be reconnected with our loved ones. What a glorious day that will be.

______________________________________________

Worship Rewind 2013

I heard great things about GraceLife while I was gone and since Tony led worship, I asked him to write up a Worship Rewind. These are his words.

  • Today Is the Day – Lincoln Brewster
  • Whom Shall I Fear – Chris Tomlin
  • Sweetly Broken – Jeremy Riddle
  • Father Will You Come – Unhindered

Today is the Day- Today was the first day I led this song and it was great! It was difficult keeping the drive of the bass but it worked out beautifully.

Whom Shall I Fear- Living in a military town the lyrics in this song really connect with the people and its always great to see the entire congregation singing along.

Sweetly Broken- I was having trouble with the distortion pedal this morning so the song was kind of lacking meatiness musically but the background vocals were really great on this song.

Father Will You Come- This song is a favorite at our church. Even though we were missing two band members it was still amazing

Please pray for the Riner family. They just went through some death in their family and your prayers would be much appreciated.

________________________

You can also catch some of Tony’s random thoughts today where he guest blogged on his father’s blog, Just Carlo.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

