5.4.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Lord of All – Kristian Stanfill
  • Beautiful the Blood – Steve Fee
  • I Call Your Name – Free Chapel
  • Help Me To Find You – Todd Fields

Man, what an excellent day at GraceLife. Chris Edmondson came and spoke to us while our pastor, Carlo Serrano, went to One Church to speak. Chris gave a great message on not judging and loving everyone as part of our No Perfect People series.

Worship started off with Lord of All. I’m not a big fan of Kristian Stanfill’s music but I think this is one of his better songs. The one thing I love about this song are the lyrics that support my definition of worship as a response. It says, “We will respond with joy and a song.” I think it is important to realize why we sing. It’s our response in joy to what Christ has done on the cross.

After welcome, I played Beautiful the Blood. Great song (nuff said).

I then went into I Call Your Name. I dropped this song down a half step from “C” to “B”, capoed second fret and played in “A”. (There’s a method to my madness). This made it possible to play the opening riff in open strings to keep the song’s signature opening.

Also, I continued in “B” going into Help Me To Want You which is normally played in “D”. This made flow and transitions much easier.

I explained to the worship leader I’m discipling that you don’t have to be locked into a key when planning worship sets. Find one that supports a couple of songs so that transitions are much easier. This way, the flow moves easily through one song into another. This also leaves you open to praying a theme or certain subjects to tie each song together.

For the next few months, we will a have stripped down stage and will be doing acoustic worship through the summer. Today began that process. I will normally be accompanied by another acoustic player and occasionally extra vocals or a very stripped down drum set. Either case, this summer will be a great summer geared and directed more toward what we are singing and less how we are performing, not that performance has been important to what we do on Sunday but we want to encourage a more intimate moment of worship these next few months.

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

