5.25.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

Being Memorial Day Weekend, we had a full house. It was good to be back since I was out-of-town leading worship at the Warrior Weekend. After rehearsal I was really excited to be singing the songs we sang because of the creativity Tony was adding to the songs. I knew it was gonna be fun worshiping this morning.

We started with This Is Amazing Grace. I turn my capo over and leave the 6th string open so playing in “E” gives it a Drop “D” feel. During rehearsal I had my capo too close wondering why I was getting a dubbed “E” sound. Thankfully, this reminded me to be more careful as I prepared to lead worship. I also played a beat on my guitar tapping the side of it during the bridge of the song. I thought that made for some pretty cool creativity.

After welcome, we played 10,000 Reasons with a little more pep than the original version. This was intentional. I didn’t want it too slow. I wanted to pep it up just a hair so we gave it a “happy” guitar strum (as Bob Ross would say).

It’s been a while since we’ve played Indescribable but it was good. It’s one of my favorite songs and love worshiping with it.

Before Church, I took a prayer walk outside the Kleeman Center and noticed the flower beds. I also noticed dandelions (I said daffodils during service) growing in the grass and found a good application of God’s grace in the analogy of how man sees dandelions as weeds yet they are just as pretty as flowers we put in the flower beds. God doesn’t discriminate with His grace. It’s for all, those who feel they don’t belong, aren’t appreciated, or don’t feel welcome. God says come to me all who feel weary, I will give you rest.  

We then sang It Is Well because our attitude should be the same when we feel life’s pressures against us. James said “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (James 1:2-4)

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

2 Responses to 5.25.14 Worship Rewind

  1. You had me in tears this morning with this. I too am a dandelion. But you are a beautiful dandelion (disciple). You have deep roots (a solid foundation of faith). And after you bloom your seeds (blessings) are blown around effortlessly by the wind to make more dandelions (disciples).

Leave a Reply

