6.15.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Hosanna – Paul Baloche
  • Friend of God – Israel Houghton
  • New Doxology – Gateway Worship
  • Lead Me To The Cross – Hillsong United

Great day at GraceLife. Here are a few thoughts.

Hosanna was great. It’s been a while since we’ve sang this song. Tony had some great BGVs going as well.

I still can’t help but here “He calls me Fred” now during Friend Of God  thanks to my pastor’s remarks a while ago. At rehearsal, I threw the idea at Tony singing this song. I played some beats against my acoustic while he led the first verse and chorus. I then came in and threw down some BGVs and had a lot of fun doing it. I’d rather sing back up any day than lead vocals.

New Doxology was awesome. I saw some folks expressing outward worship where I’ve never seen them before. That blessed my heart.

Lastly, Lead Me To the Cross was fun. I asked Tony to open it up while I played some small guitar work over top his chords. At first, during rehearsal he was playing kind of up beat. I asked him to not be so happy and he nailed it. Great song and again, a lot of expressed worship today during this song.

Today was also Father’s Day. So for Father’s Day, my wife let me go to a bluegrass festival at Land Between the Lakes. I took my guitar and got lost with a jam band playing bluegrass for about three hours. That was the most fun I’ve had in a long time. I made some great connections as well as made some new friends. I was handed a lot of compliments on my guitar work and singing. That made me feel pretty good to know that although I can’t play bluegrass very well, some folks thought I was pretty good at it. It’s been a great day!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

