This Verse Rocked My World


I’m a huge fan of John Piper. Am I a Calvinist? I think to an extent. Maybe a three pointer. But that’s beside the point. Going to a Calvinist college of course we’re going to study those who are staunch Calvinists. That’s not a bad thing.

Let me get to the point.

Listening to a lecture by Piper on world missions, he brought up this verse.

John 5:44 – How can you believe, when you receive glory from one another and do not seek the glory that comes from the only God?

This verse just rocked my world. Why? Because sometimes, I do want the praise of man. I like being appreciated. I like the glory that comes from others when I’m told I’m good at what I do. There’s nothing bad in encouraging and appreciating another’s talents but when our whole world revolves around what others (not God) thinks about you, then we have a slight problem. Well, maybe a MAJOR problem.

Piper says, “Jesus warned that not seeking God’s glory makes faith impossible. If your whole life is bent on horizontal people approval, you can’t believe in Jesus.”

Why?

Because we are too wrapped up in pursuing our own approval from that which has stained glory. Pure glory only comes from God. By seeking the glory that comes from God, we then can open our eyes to faith in which we need for salvation. For it’s unto God for salvation (Romans 1:16) and not man. Man cannot provide the salvation or glory that man needs, only God.

So people pleasing, people glory pursuing is void. It’s useless. If we seek the glory from man, we simply can’t have a heart for the one who is pure in glory. It’ s impossible.

Boy this verse rocks me. What do you think?

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

