6.29.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Not To Us – Chris Tomlin
  • Sing To The King (Billy Foote)/I Could Sing of Your Love Forever (Paul Baloche)
  • We Fall Down (Chris Tomlin)/Holy Holy Holy (Reginald Heber)
  • Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone) – Chris Tomlin

I love worshiping with my GraceLife family. This morning when I woke up, I thought of some of the people I get to see that I don’t get to see through the week and it blessed my soul.

We started off with Not To Us. Typically when we start the house music is playing and then I kick into the first song while the house music is being lowered. Starting today with just vocals was interesting but I liked it. Took me a minute to get the key in my head while the music was pumping in the house. I started the chorus then went in to the opening music.

As I was planning, we used Psalm 89 for our scripture today which says, “I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever.” I thought how cool it would be to add that line from Paul Baloche’s famous song to Sing To the King. I thought it fit well.

Some may have wondered why the song ended rather rough. Here’s the scoop. When I can’t hear the guitar enough, I bang on my guitar to get more sound out. This is no knock on our sound guy. I actually had him bring it up a little in the monitor before the song. By the end of the song, I had been playing so hard to get more sound out that the muscle between my thumb and index finger severely started to cramp to the point I couldn’t open my hand nor could I grip my pick so I ended up dropping it unintentionally and Tony (second acoustic) fell out quickly because he was unsure of what I was doing. so we ended the song. I took some time to pray to allow my hand to work itself out and I could play again.

Not sure what made me reach way back into the archives and pull out We Fall Down but I thought it would be great to add one of my favorite hymns to it so we added the first verse of Holy Holy Holy. This too, I thought, went together well.

Lastly Amazing Grace sounded so beautiful with the whole church singing the last chorus accapella.

The songs supported the message very well and I must say, Pastor Carlo nailed it to today with the message. It spoke volumes to me and inspired me not to be quiet with my faith. We share so much of lives on social networking but when do we ever share our faith? BAM!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

