Hayloft


It’s nothing these days to find crossover artists or musicians doing their personal favorite genre stylings of a cover song from another genre. This is a classic (and not bad if I may say) example of a pop tune turned bluegrass. I had never heard of Hayloft (forgive me) until Nickel Creeks version showed up in my YouTube feed.

Original version by Mother Mother. The music got me. I loved it… Until they started singing. It’s catchy but it takes a few listens to find the appreciation it deserves.

Here’s the quasi-bluegrass version from the newest album of one of my favorite bluegrass bands, Nickel Creek

Here’s Nickel Creek doing Hayloft live. Definitely more bluegrassy but like one of the commenters stated, “This is not your grandaddy’s bluegrass.”

 

 

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

3 Responses to Hayloft

  1. pastorcarlo says:

    That’s a catchy tune! Love the cover version!

  2. pastorcarlo says:

    …still stuck in my head.

Leave a Reply

