7.20.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Everlasting God – Lincoln Brewster
  • God Is Able – Hillsong
  • Came To My Rescue – Hillsong United

Real quick because my day is booked with loads of stuff. I thought church was amazing this morning. Worship was great. The message rocked. We had communion. I love my church!

We started off with Everlasting God. I played the guitar lick Lincoln plays and Tony sang it. I tried some background vocals but really could find the pocket to sing in.

After welcome, we played God Is Able. I enjoy leading this song. It’s fun and the message is powerful. Tony played the signature guitar lick for this song while I led it.

After the second song we took communion. I usually handle leading this and for the first time, I felt so comfortable leading our church in communion. I thought it was a powerful moment and very unified. One thing that I learned this morning is how to get out of my traditionalism. I grew up taking communion in the little small cups usually that fit in the communion plates that get passed around. Our church doesn’t utilize communion plates. We put it out on a table and everyone comes up  to get it.

When Kevin was pouring the grape juice in, I noticed he was using small like solo cups similar to cups used for drinking water in. I asked him why he wasn’t using the small communion cups and he said because they tend to tip over when they move the table out front. He then asked me if I wanted to use the small cups instead, I quickly realized this was not an issue. It was a “we’ve always done it that way” issue. So I told him no, continue on, that I need to get over myself and my traditionalism. ‘Nuff said, we had communion in small water cups. It was still awesome!

After communion, we sang Came To My Rescue. Great song. Awesome moment. Powerful. Impacting. I watched people crying being moved by the Holy Spirit.

Pastor Carlo did a great job sharing with us about Psalm 134. I love that Psalm and what he had to share with us.

Alright, I gotta go get some work done. Schoolwork, housework, brianwork.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

