8.3.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Whom Shall I Fear – Chris Tomlin
  • Cornerstone – Hillsong United
  • Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus/I need Thee Every Hour

What a great day at GraceLife.

We started off withWhom Shall I Fear. Not too upbeat but sometimes a medium speed song is fine to start things with. I noticed the church was engaged right off the bat. It was great to see folks come to worship rather than mingling in about the second or third song.

After the welcome, Tony led us in Cornerstone. One thing I noticed was it was hard to hear him singing when I looked over and realized his mic was pointed at his throat. I tried to sing back up a little more than I would to fill in the space where he wasn’t “eating the mic” like I like to do.

We then played a “medley” of two hymns.Really we sang all of Tis So Sweet then two verses of I Need Thee. These two songs fit together well. These songs really ministered to folks this morning because I knew the life stories of those who were there this morning and really needed to hear the promises of God in these songs and the surety of His presence in our lives.

When I planned the songs out, we normally dofour but I felt this week we only needed to do three. I found out after my planning session that we were doing a baby dedication. There was a reason then. We needed to make time to celebrate another birth in the church and her dedication back to the Lord to be raised in a Christian household with Christian morals.

After the message, we made a huge announcement. My wife and I will be moving back home soon to plant GraceLife Lewisburg. More on this later but it was a bittersweet moment to make such an announcement that we would soon be leaving such an amazing church family but knowing we are going back home on mission to reach more for the name of Christ. I’m excited and scared out of my pants all at the same time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

