8.17.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Our God – Chris Tomlin
  • That’s Why We Praise Him – Tommy Walker
  • Came To My Rescue – Hillsong
  • You Never Let Go – Matt Redman

Thursday, my wife and I went to our future home to get ready to sell off everything in her grandmother’s house to prepare for our move back home. We spent three days working very hard to get things ready and have the yard sale. We both are extremely tired physically and emotionally, physically for the obvious but emotionally because it’s very hard to watch your loved one’s things be sold to various people as they walk through the house like vultures in a field of dead animals. However, we’re not finished in Clarksville so we had to return to lead worship and she taught Children’s Church.

We started of with Our God. This song has a whole different dynamic when its just acoustic guitars. This song almost takes on a whole new sound and must be approached in such a way. Great song though. I love it because it has a very powerful message. 

That’s Why We Praise Him has been around for a while and we play it more upbeat than Tommy Walker plays it. This has become a staple in our church because of it’s truths and I think also because it’s a teaching song. It really announces the why of praise. 

Tony took over for the last two songs. Came To My Rescue sounded great. I am so proud of how Tony has grown vocally. When he started leading worship for us, he was very much into grunge music with vocals that had a lot of gravel. However, He’s come along in his singing ability and really beginning to find a voice in singing, not just “growling”. 😉

The last two songs had a crazy key shift so I prayed to allow Tony to transition from “C” to “A”.

Lastly we sang You Never Let Go. Absolutely great song. One that I believe speaks to our church in many ways. 

Last night, we arrived back home fairly late so I wasn’t thinking that Jayce had came back on board to sing back up. I forgot to prepare her lyric sheets so when I got to church, I realized I didn’t have any lyrics for her. So I gave her my lyrics sheets and used my iPad. That’s when I wished we had the Music Stand from Planning Center. I could then hook up blue tooth and turn pages with a pedal rather than having to flip pages while trying to play at the same time. 

It was good to have Jayce back. I’ve missed her vocals and she filled in very nicely. I got to sing some alternative vocals adding oohs and ahhs here and there. Very fun for me. 

It was a great day considering the monsoon we got before church. It was packed and I thought we were going to have a low turnout because of all the rain. Boy am I glad I was wrong. 

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

