9.21.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Not To Us – Chris Tomlin
  • Cornerstone – Hillsong
  • God of This City – Chris Tomlin

Today’s Worship Rewind will be slightly different because I didn’t play on the worship team rather I brought the message. I was really able to connect with God during the music this morning. I cried but what’s new right? I thought Tony did a great job leading us yet I also challenged him to be a little more aggressive in the sense that he knows he’s just not singing a song but actually connecting our church with our Lord and Savior.

I got the opportunity to share with our church how my wife and I will be leaving soon to go back to our hometown to plant a very grassroots, organic church. In other words, we’re going to infiltrate our neighborhood and hold church in our living room. We will be so under the radar most people will not know our church exists other than the ones we have connected with.

I’m excited about this new venture that we are taking and quite frankly, can’t wait to get back to start. It’s rather bittersweet because again, we will be leaving a church and people we truly love but I know that we are not far away to visit as well as leaving is never saying goodbye, just a see ya later.

Today’s message was very real and personable. I didn’t try to make it polished. I just wanted to talk with my church family. That’s just what I did. I did go a little long but for the first time, it didn’t bother me because I really needed to say what I did. I love the idea of speaking to our church family without feeling like I have to be a professional speaker. I just spoke like I would if we were all sitting in a coffee house having a simple conversation. Felt liberating to do so.

This week, I’ll share a short version of what I said today.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

