Innovation and Attitude Change


Last night, I was bathing my four year old when he looked at me with a sad face. He didn’t want to admit that he broke his toy. He does think though that if anything breaks, you can slap some glue on it and fix it. The final analysis proved that glue would not bring his toy motorcycle back to life. He had broken the pin that held the front wheel and handle bars to the body of the bike.

As I explained to him that glue would not help his broken toy, he stared at his broken fun and fell silent. His broken toy broke my heart. It then came to me. Sure, he no longer had a motorcycle but what he did have was a unicycle. I asked him to hand me the rest of the broken motorcycle and I laid it to the side and explained to him out of this broken toy, he now has a new toy.

I dried him off and I grabbed my iPad and quickly opened my YouTube app. I searched frantically praying and hoping that what I was about to show him would satisfy him and excite him for his new toy. I found some cool unicycle freestyle videos and presented them to him. His eyes lit up and he sat still soaking in what he was watching grasping his “new” toy trying to imagine it being able to do the same as what he was seeing in the videos.

He then looked at me and held up his toy saying, “Look Daddy, a unicycle.”

He got it!

Imagine what life would be if we had this same attitude. The broken things in our life can be redeemed to bring us new and different joys. Is there something in your life that you have chalked up as broken and unfixable; marriage, church, work, sports team, family, vehicle, your heart, emotions, life? How can you come from a new angle and find a redeemable quality? It won’t be the same as it was and I would argue it shouldn’t be. To be made new is to bring a freshness, a newness that creates an alteration of attitude.

The greatest redemption ever performed was by Jesus. Jesus exemplified this by taking our broken lives and making them new (2 Corinthians 5:17). This newness brings a new attitude, a freshness of life. Finding redeeming qualities can be life changing.

How can you change your life today?

Oh, and for your entertainment, dig this!

 

 

 

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

