I’m Gonna Start A Church. That’s Just Plain Crazy!


The more I think about starting a church, the more I get freaked out. I mean who am I to think I could be a lead pastor. Who am I to think someone wants to hear what I have to say about Jesus? Who am I to bring people together to form a community? Who am I to pray for people when I myself am pretty jacked up? Why does God favor me to do such a thing? I confounds me. It blows my mind. It makes me nervous. It’s a crazy thought; pastor a church, lead a community, start an ekklesia.

Everyday that I draw closer to starting a new christian community, I wonder can I do it. Do I have the experience? Am I capable? Why in the world do I think this is possible?

Let’s for a moment throw out the God factor. We all know we can do all things through Christ who gives us strength. I don’t discount the God mobility factor.

But tangibly, physically leading a church sounds overwhelming. It feels impossible. As days pass, I think I’m one step closer to starting a church. That’s a brain full when I think I’ve just always not been that guy.

As I type this, I’m just shaking my head. Really God, who am I? I’m just crazy enough to think I have enough experience to begin but do I have the experience to sustain.

Then the thought crosses my mind.

You’ll always only be prepared enough to think you can do it and never prepared enough to sustain it. Go ahead and jump in.

ok!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to I’m Gonna Start A Church. That’s Just Plain Crazy!

  1. I think you are completely qualified. You are a reassuring voice of intentional hope. You have had more of an intentional impact in my life then I could even begin to share. You cared about me during a time when I barely cared about myself. You showed compassion and gave friendship. I now show that same compassion and friendship to others. But without you first investing in me I wouldn’t have anything to invest in others. I know that you are a great pastor and I know you can grow a missional community. And know that every night I intentionally have you and your family in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

