11.2.14 Worship Rewind


Worship Rewind 2013

  • God Is Able – Hillsong
  • This Is Amazing Grace – Phil Wickham
  • Here For You – Matt Redman
  • Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone) – Chris Tomlin

What a great day at GraceLife today. I believe God’s presence was with us. We had a wonderful time of worship this morning. I’m going to miss worshiping with my GraceLife Clarksville family.

Tony, my worship leading replacement couldn’t lead today because he perforated his ear somehow. I know he is in a lot of pain. Ear aches are no joke. That is some serious pain to overcome. Pray for him!!! Since he was down, I led worship today. Last week, I handed the reigns over to him and asked him to schedule me to play and maybe sing a song. I didn’t have the intention to lead today but it was a beautiful completion of the circle that I told our drummer had come full. When I came to the church, it was just me on acoustic and a drummer. The original drummer PCSed. (In the Army, that means permanent change of station) So Thomas, who I dubbed backup came on first string and we played for a long time together, just him and I. Today, we got to relive that moment. I believe a fitting end to my ministry at GraceLife.

We began with God Is Able. Great song. With only one guitar, I don’t worry about signature guitar licks. I just play the chord progression. I really like doing that sometimes because it frees me up to really just allow the spirit to flow and go where he wants.

We then sang This Is Amazing Grace. We are in our Sola series and today Pastor Carlo was speaking on Sola Gratia, Grace Alone. So we had to sing about God’s grace or unmerited favor.

Next we sang Here For You. I prefaced this song about not coming to church for all the benefits it provides but coming firstly to worship God. I really felt my hand starting to cramp on this song. I typically do when I play by myself. I keep a death grip on the pick and it tends to cramp before I finish. Gotta learn to quit doing that.

Lastly, of course we had to play Amazing Grace. It’s obligatory when you have a message on grace.

Again, it’s really difficult knowing that we merely have just a few weeks left. But I am equally excited to get back to Lewisburg and do ministry in my hometown. This is a huge transition for my wife and I. I never considered myself a church planter. So this is new for our family. I only pray that I have made an impact in Clarksville that will create a legacy and continue to preach in the hearts of people who knew me here.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

