Stay Hungry


We all get hungry. Some more than others. That’s why they invented the All You Can Eat buffet. Getting hungry basically means that your body consumed the calories it found in your last meal and you need to refuel.

Two ways we get hungry

We get hungry physically and we get hungry spiritually. Both of them have damaging and healthy effects depending on the nutritional value of the meal. When get hungry and eat cookies, ice cream, Nutella, breads, sugars all the stuff that tastes good, we can begin to feel sluggish, sick, and paradoxically have no energy. However, if we feed our body with healthy foods, such as fruits, vegetables, water, and non-processed foods, we feel a sense of energy, we feel good and a heightened sense of awareness.

Spiritually, it’s the same. When we work for God, we get hungry as well and ostensibly, we have two ways to spiritually feed ourselves. We can refill with God and His word, church, small groups, worship music or we can choose to refill with what the world has for us; self-serving, opinion of others, fame, refusal of time with God, negative and dramatic friends, addictions. However we choose to fill our hunger cravings, if God is not presiding over the meal it won’t have a godly effect.

Working for God doesn’t always contribute to a hunger for God

But don’t be mistaken. Just because you are working for God doesn’t necessarily mean you are hungering for God. I’ve realized this lately as a church planter. Planting a church takes a lot of work meeting people, sharing your vision, planning and preparing. But when I lay my head down at night, I’m hungry because I’ve worked all day. However, sometimes, that hunger craving is not for God. It’s for a regular life, to live my life outside of public opinion, not being the crazy Christian who’s trying to do the impossible in a small rural town.

Sometimes my hunger is for God to make it easy, simple, and not so hard. I lay awake at night asking him where he is moving and sometimes, I want to stay away like Jonah. I wake up in the morning and ask him where He is working and I refuse to listen because it means I have to go there and work too.

I realize also in my refusal to feed myself with the healthy word, I am choosing to feed my soul with spiritual junk food. I know it’s bad for me so I simply ask God to give me a hunger for Him, to be soulfully healthy because I know it’s better for me. I see the spiritual Mt. Dew and Fudge Rounds and realize the delayed reaction will ultimately hurt me and so I repent and begin to ask him to give me a thirst and hunger after righteousness.

Maturity is moving from milk to meat: 1 Cor. 3:2

Maturity helps understand that we need to fix our eyes on what reduces fat and strengthens muscles. The temptation to hunger like we do at Thanksgiving and Christmas will always be there. The temptation will always be there to overindulge with a couple of exploding calorie meals a day when six light meals a day will be more beneficial.

But when we become mature, which is a life long process and not a life event, we begin to choose as much as it hurts to be healthy. With help from the Holy Spirit we begin to choose what is right to consume. We hunger for the right things. The temptation for the junk will always be there, don’t be misled. But the power of the Holy Spirit has the ability to help us in our time of weakness put down the cookie and grab the banana.

May God always empower us to hunger and thirst for Him and move to the salad bar rather than the dessert tray.

Psalm 107:9 – For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things (NIV)

 

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

