Being Faithful Says I Love You


When my son was learning to speak, he would tell us he loved us by saying, “I fay fo.” He couldn’t really pronounce I love you very well. It kinda stuck with us and at almost five years old now, sometimes, we say, “I fay fo,” to one another. It’s like our own language that we understand and no one else does.

Recently, while driving and listening to the radio, Chris Tomlin’s Whom Shall I Fear came on. This is one of Levi’s favorite songs. Everytime we get in the truck he wants to listen to it. As we were listening to it this time, Levi caught wind of the lyrics. It sings, “You are faithful, you are faithful.”

He quickly turned to me and said, Jesus love us because the words say “fay fo”. Yeah, fay fo and faithful sound a lot alike. Then I had an epiphany.

When we are faithful it’s as if we are telling God we love him. God is always faithful and he always loves us.

Here’s to being faithful and telling God I fay fo.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

One Response to Being Faithful Says I Love You

  1. tamara says:

    I assume this was going to be about commitment …. but actually as I type that I realize it is about commitment.. God is committed to us… my hope is to be as committed to Him … great one!

Leave a Reply

