My Grace Is Sufficient


If you’ve been in church, I’m sure you are familiar 1 Corinthians 12:9. I won’t get into the details but you can go read 1 Corinthians 12 for yourself. Let me share a story that helps me understand God’s word when it seems a bit fuzzy.

Saturday, my wife, our son Levi and I drove to Clarksville, TN, to hang out with some friends before Sunday morning where I was to preach and lead worship at GraceLife. We arrived at Thomas and Heather’s, was greeted by their awesome kids and shared some great time hanging out. Heather made us Chicken Fettucine and it was simply amazing. Last time we visited she made us Shepherd’s Pie and all I can say is, “WOW!”

We sat at the dinner table along with my great friend Kevin, for a while before calling it a night and going to bed. I began to feel my stomach bothering me and dizziness beginning to set in. I  have lived with vertigo my whole life so that was nothing new but I had hoped that the stomach thing would not bother me into the night.

It did.

I hardly slept woke up very nauseous and dizzy. I told Heather I would not be eating breakfast, french toast, and poured a glass of water. I went to the front porch to sit and pray about feeling like hot garbage before going to church to not only preach but lead worship.

It was time to leave and I was still feeling miserable. When we got to church, I had a lot of work to do; set up my guitar, practice, meet and hangout with those I haven’t seen in a while then lead worship and directly after singing preach for an hour.

His grace surely was sufficient because during the whole time I was there I didn’t feel nauseous nor did I feel dizzy. As soon as we left to eat at our favorite taco joint, it came back a little but at least not enough not to eat. So I pigged out because I didn’t get a breakfast. I took a nap on our two-hour drive back home and again began to prepare for meeting with Village Church that night.

Again, while we met, I didn’t feel bad at all and was able to hangout and teach at Village Church. As soon as everyone left, I began feeling ill again. It was an early bedtime that night. I woke the next morning (Monday) and was still feeling bad but not too bad. It has gotten better but here’s my point.

God will help. God’s grace is sufficient. He will get you through it. It’s not easy sometimes. And sometimes, he won’t even remove what it is that bothers you. But he will get you through what he has called you to. Trust in him.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

