Shadow of Your Wings


I love thunderstorms. I love a rainy night. I love the sounds as lightning crashes and thunder rolls as if they are some pop or country song playing through heavenly speakers. (You see what I did there?)

Last night we had a severe case of summer lightning storm. Those things are beautiful but I liken them to blue lights on a police car. Beautiful until you are caught by them.

Storms scare Levi, my son. He goes absolutely crazy when it begins to thunder outside his bedroom window. Carrie stayed with him mostly while the storm passed but there was a moment I needed to relieve her. So I sang a favorite song of his to him while we laid together. I did change some lyrics but I hope Veggie Tales doesn’t sue me for that.

God is bigger than the… Thunderstorms.

He’s bigger than the rain or the lightning that we see.

God is bigger than the… Thunderstorms.

He’s big enough to protect you and me.

As I sang this to him, it reminded me of a message I preached a couple of weeks ago on Psalm 63. In verse 7 it says,

Because you are my help,
    I sing in the shadow of your wings.

“…in the shadow of your wings” is powerful figure of speech. The idea is of how a mother bird shields her young chicks from predators, from the elements, and from dangers by gathering them under her wings.

This figure of speech is also used in three other Psalms (Psalms 36:7, 57:1, and 63:7). Jesus used this same word picture to show his love and desired care for Jerusalem in Matthew 23:37.

I just sat there holding him and watching the lightning strike outside the window lighting the room up like a Hollywood strobe light. I felt the peace of God knowing that no matter what happened around us, his “wing” sheltered out house and I just knew his promise would prove our safety.

It’s good to know you can trust in God and His promises because God is not a liar (Hebrews 6:18).

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

