Appreciating Joy In Light of Pain


I sat by the bonfire mesmerized by the flame. I felt the heat on my face as I watched the flame lick the wood. No one was around except for me and my thoughts. The sky was clear so the moon and stars towered over me as they watched me watching the fire. The cool breeze from the humid air touched my back while the fire heated my front. My feet were propped up on the seat in front of me while I cradled my knees in my arms.

Then I began to grow agitated.

I wanted to be alone with the fire. I wanted to meditate while the flames danced. I wanted nothing to ruin the moment. It felt perfect for a moment. I didn’t want to be disturbed. It was a serene moment until…

I began to grow agitated.

That security light ruined the occasion. When the only light I desired was the bright flame and the dim celestial spark, an annoying security light took it all away. I stared at it. I gave it the stink eye. I motioned to it to go away. I hollered at it. I felt like a spoiled brat at a playground who had his personal slide taken from him by the neighbor kids.

I bet you’ve felt that way before. I bet you have felt like everything was perfect till… It’s kinda like the convict on Scooby Doo. You would have gotten away with it if it hadn’t had been for those meddling kids.

But… Every rose has its thorn (I’ve heard that somewhere before). But you don’t stop appreciating the rose for the thorn. You can either focus on the beauty of something and disregard the pain or you can focus on the pain and miss the beauty.

Some people have the tendency to not go to church or follow Christ because of His church (Christians). Therefore, they just don’t do it. They don’t want to be associated with “hypocrites.” But therein lies the problem. We’re all sinners who sin in different ways. So no matter the sin, no one is better at life than another.

So don’t let what’s wrong with man keep you from what’s right with God. Don’t let the thorn keep you from appreciating the rose. Don’t let the security light keep you from enjoying the fire. Don’t throw the baby out with the bath water.

In other words, there will be some pain in the joy. Don’t stop searching for joy due to the pain.

 

 

quote

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

