9.13.15 Worship Rewind (New Life)


Worship Rewind 2013

  • Not To Us – Chris Tomlin
  • Everlasting God – Lincoln Brewster
  • How Great Is Our God – Chris Tomlin
  • Only You – David Crowder
  • Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus – Hymn

It’s been a while since I’ve led worship. We’ve been focused on starting a church so I haven’t led anywhere. I was afraid that I would be a little rusty but my wife said I picked up like I had never stopped. I just love pastoring folks in music. I love encouraging them and leading them in worshiping our God.

I got invited by my friend Jake at New Life to come lead while he was on vacation and I accepted. I love his church and love worshiping with them. They are such great people and the spirit is moving in that place. I could tell today that they were ready to worship. I go there an hour early to set up and it felt like I was sound checking in front of the whole church because people arrive for worship so early.

I’ve been concerned the last two weeks because I recently came down with an upper respiratory infection and have been working diligently to overcome it. It really didn’t seem like the drugs were working but for some reason, God never fails. When I lead worship, he always pauses the coughing enough for me to lead and get off stage.

I used to be that guy concerned that I wouldn’t fail, that I wouldn’t do it right or that I wouldn’t do what I was supposed to do. But God has given me the gift to lead worship so I just do it. I didn’t fear standing before a different group of people who hadn’t heard me before or hadn’t heard me in a while. I didn’t fear that I wouldn’t follow the Spirit. It is sometimes weird going to a different church where you don’t know what God is doing but I decided to go in there and let God speak and lead. Who cared (not me) if I did something out of the ordinary. Thankfully the leadership of New Life trusted me to lead.

Needless to say, when I stepped off the stage, Pastor Richard let the church know I just about preached his message. I left off right where he needed to start. It is so cool when God leads me to sing and speak the words that will be reiterated or picked up and taken further by the pastor. I love it when God seamlessly makes things happen.

We had a great time at New Life today. I even got called weird from the pulpit. I was also asked not to be a stranger at leading worship at New Life. Hey Jake!!!!!!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

