Professional Christian


 

Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 8.20.05 PM

Last Sunday, Village Church met for our First Sunday monthly meeting. I’m very excited about what God is doing at Village Church but one thing that makes me incredibly nervous is the occupation of one of our attendees. You see, we moved to a very rural setting thinking we would be doing ministry among people of the land; that is farmers or country folk who are more concerned with the ability to shoot a deer or raise a crop rather than the theological implications in Obadiah.

When we met for the first time, a lady who came to church informed me she was a professional Christian counselor in Brentwood, TN. This freaked me out because I became intimidated. Here I am trying to start a church and one of the first folks that started with us is a college graduate and makes a living counseling with an emphasis on the bible.

Great!

I mean who am I to teach a professional Christian counselor?

As I was writing in my journal my thoughts on this it hit me square in the eyes when I wrote, “She may be a professional Christian counselor but she’s not a professional Christian.”

I stopped when I wrote this. I couldn’t believe what my pen had just put ink to paper and wrote. It was unbelievable. Sometimes, I preach to myself. Sometimes, I need what is deep in me that comes out at the right time when I’m writing in my journal. Sometimes, God has a unique way to speak to me through me and this was one of those times and I am so grateful for it.

She may be a professional Christian counselor but she’s not a professional Christian. She needs God’s word too. She needs to be fed and pastored after she has given so much through the week. She needs being ministered to instead of always being the one ministering.

The greatest of pastors, the greatest of leaders, the greatest of man needs caring for at times. They are so busy emptying themselves, they need a time to be filled. When I wrote those words, it occurred to me that she needs Village Church. She needs a pastor. She needs someone to teach her. She needs someone to show her God’s word. She needs someone so encourage her, believe in her, speak truth to her, lead her, guide her, show her the love of Christ.

Because she may be a professional Christian counselor but she’s not a professional Christian.

I feel better now.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

