So Shall I Be Saved From My Enemies


2 Samuel 22:1 David sang to the Lord the words of this song when the Lord delivered him from the hand of all his enemies and from the hand of Saul.

Psalm 18:3 I called to the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and I have been saved from my enemies.

I grew up singing from the hymn book. No shame in that. But then I left church. I didn’t care for it. It was too boring. But then I met a girl and the rest is history. Tarnished history but history none the less. When I got back to attending church, there was this new phenomena of music being sang. They called them choruses. I always wondered why they never sang the verse, only the chorus.

One of the popular choruses we sang was I Will Call Upon The Lord. It’s one of those songs that’s is a call and response. A group sings a line and then the other group repeats the same line. This is one of those songs that will stick with you forever regardless if you like it or not. Now, whenever I’m reading my bible or see the phrase so shall I be saved from my enemies, I can’t help but think of this song and sing it for hours. Lord help me and save me from this enemy of a stuck song in my head!

Recently, I have been ministering to some friends and quite honestly dealing with some stress of my own. I ran across these words again and I had to ask who OR WHAT are my enemies. Maybe you’re like me in that you don’t really have any human enemies. Maybe your enemies are more along the lines of worry, fear, doubt, anger, stress, confusion, etc. Maybe you can’t necessarily talk (or argue) with your enemy because it’s inside you. You can only talk about it.

What do you do with this enemy who has infiltrated your heart or mind? How do you handle your enemy setting up barricades that won’t allow you to have peace, faith, hope, love, etc. You can’t fight with tangible weapons. It doesn’t care for your physical health. It wants to destroy your emotional and spiritual health. This enemy is not concerned with wounding your flesh. It wants to ruin you spirit. Maybe your spirit to even live.

The answer is in why David claims that God is worthy to be praised?

“So shall I be saved from my enemies.”

Don’t ask me how God does it. He just does because of His elaborate love for us.

We simply have to believe that God will be strong in our weakness. He will be faithful in our unbelief. He will be present when we have checked out. He will destroy what is attempting to destroy us.

He will save us from our enemies. If only we believe.

We have to trust who He says He is. We have to trust that he is not a liar but truth. We have to trust that he will keep his word. We have to trust a trustworthy God.

He will save us from our enemies. If only we trust.

I will call upon the Lord who is worthy to be praised
So shall I be saved from my enemies, oh yeah
I will call upon the Lord who is worthy to be praised
So shall I be saved from my enemies

The Lord liveth and blessed be the Rock
And let the God of my salvation be exalted
The Lord liveth and blessed be the Rock
And let the God of my salvation be exalted

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

