Hearing The Word No Often Times Leads To Better Things


Have you ever had anyone tell you no and you shut down because you did not know what to do next or if you should do anything at all? The word no can be debilitating. It can crush your dreams. It can stagnate you drive. It can be depressing. Hearing the word no can literally stop you in your tracks and everything that you have worked up to can be lost simply by a two letter word.

Recently, I was told no. Rather I was told to please stop doing something. It wasn’t that it was harmful. Slightly annoying maybe but hurting nothing. I guess I was posting too much about my church on a Facebook group page. That’s all I will say about what I was doing but I was confronted, respectfully. The moderator even gave constructive criticism. With asking me to stop, the moderator gave me other options to consider.

I could have gotten really upset but I didn’t. I’m not saying it felt good by no means. I just weighed the moderator’s words before responding. What I have found in the past is that when someone tells you no, there is a yes somewhere else. What the moderator of this page really helped me see was that there is possibly a better and more profitable way to announce and invite our bible studies at Village Church.

In other words, sometimes no can be good. When a no comes, it may be that what you were doing has run its course and it is time to try something new. That something new can be a better idea and lead to better outcomes than before.

I have spoken about how I lost my job four days after Thanksgiving in 2011 before on this blog and it was one of the best things that ever happened to me. I had been praying for God to use me and he most certainly could in those circumstances however, he had better idea and I am thankful for that. Had I not lost my job, I would not be 8 weeks from my associates degree as of this writing. I would not have been an associate pastor at my last church that became the catalyst for me to become a church planter of Village Church. Nor would I have my job now since my work after being fired gave me the experience needed to be hired.

So no can be a good thing but only if we keep an optimistic outlook. Because, for some good reason I believe, God knows what he is doing.

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

