Praying with the Echo App


IMG_6366

Have you ever needed an app to pray? Yeah, me neither. However, recently I was made aware of a prayer app called Echo. At first I downloaded it to just check it out. After “checking it out” I decided I could really utilize this app. Its simple interface makes it user-friendly and its notifications ability makes praying on a schedule manageable in our busy lives.

Believe it or not (and you should) most of us do not pray throughout the day because either we do not know how or we do not know what to pray for with the exception of the desperate prayer of “God help me.” Most times, in an attempt to be spiritual we ask God to bless us, keep us, or be with us and never get to the heart of God through directness or specificity.

Prayer is relational. When we boldly and confidently go before the throne of grace (Heb. 4:16), we have the fortune of going before a God who can do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine (Eph. 3:20). Why would we not want to dial in our prayers to be more precise petitions instead of just asking God to be mindful of us. Jesus did not ask God for help when he knelt in the garden the night before his crucifixion. He precisely asked God to take the cup from him. When Elijah faced the 450 prophets of Baal, he did not ask God to be with him. He built an alter of sacrifice, cut up a bull and placed it on the alter and precisely asked God to let it be known today who is the real God. So when we pray, it should be more than a mere acknowledgement God’s existence and your desire for his participation.

This is where the Echo app comes in. We meander through our day and hardly say a word to God unless we need him. We can turn this attitude around and give God a little more effort by redeeming the technology in our lives. I’m not saying we have to spend a large amount of time for every prayer need on our list but we can spend a little more time praying than we do.

ECHO

The echo app, as I stated earlier, has a very simple interface. You can either use it to pray or use it to schedule prayers. There’s really nothing more to it. When you open the app it gives you the option to “Pray Now” or “Add A Prayer”. I hardly use the pray now option because I mostly let the app notify me when it is time to pray for someone. So really the only time I even open the app is when I need to add a prayer need.

IMG_6363

You can open the app and swipe up from the bottom of the screen and it will give you four options that are quite self-explanatory.

  • Your Prayers
  • Reminders
  • Answered
  • Settings

IMG_6362

The one thing I will highlight in the settings is the Prayer Timer. You can set a timer so if you have a set time of day to pray through your prayer needs you can set the amount of time to pray for each need. It will then notify you when each prayer time is up and what to pray for next.

                                                      IMG_6364  IMG_6367

The Reminder Type really is the heart of the app. Here you set when and how to be notified each time you need to pray for something or someone. I set mine to push-notify me on my phone. You can also set it to email you or both.

IMG_6369

Lastly is the section of answered prayers. I like this section simply because it acts as an Old Testament alter to remind us what God has done. Here you can check off you answered prayers and keep them to look back and see how God has moved, answered, and been a part of our relationship with him. I like to journal for the same reasons so I also keep a journal (or try to) each and every day so that I can look back where I was and where God has me now.

IMG_6368

I highly recommend this simple app to keep you on track praying throughout your day. It does not take much. When you receive a notification, keep working or doing whatever it is you are doing but silently pray for those needs. If you have the opportunity to stop what your doing, then that is even better. Stop for a moment and pray. This app will propel your prayer life. The best thing is it is FREE. So get to it!

About Kevin Riner
child of grace, worshiper of Jesus, husband, father, Pastor of Village Church, author of Faith Debugged

Leave a Reply

